There are always bad characters that are looking for opportunities to trick people. To give you tips on how to avoid them, here are 15 scams that are used in social media.
The hacker will access someone’s Facebook account and pretend to be the owner of the account. It will contact someone in the owner’s network and ask for help. The scammer will claim that he’s been robbed or something similar that caused them to lose their money. They will request for the contacted person to transfer them money through wire to buy return ticket and promise to pay them when they return.
See who viewed your profile!
This scam is famous because it feeds the ego and curiosity of the user who viewed their Facebook profile.
The same with usual scams, it uses application to access your profile. For the user’s curiosity, he will ‘sacrifice’ his ‘basic’ information just to be able to see who’s viewing their profile. But you will only be left with an unfair trade; you let the scammer access your information while waiting forever to see your viewers.
Do you sometimes wish that Facebook had a ‘dislike’ button so that you can dislike a post without revealing your identity? Seeing this offering seems like an answer to your wish. But guess what… its another scam or spam that will either access your information or take you to a survey by letting you to ‘enable’ the dislike button.
Another hard to resist scam is… watch this [insert controversial video here]. The scam promises you that you can watch the video after you share it but it will take you to another site after clicking it. This is also used by spammers to get you to take their survey, which will allow them to earn their commission, and leaves you with nothing.
Who can resist free items? With this scam, it will cost you a lot. By posting free offerings, you will be convinced to willingly reveal your information just to avail freebies.
Have you seen posts with titles like “Justin Bieber stabbed!” or a video that promises to show the death of Osama Bin Laden? These fake celebrity news are also taking advantage of users’ curiosity. Again, clicking the link will infect your computer with malware.
Work from Home
These offerings usually appear on Twitter. When you click the link, it will take you to a site that offers initial payment or products to purchase before you could start to work. This will entice you to work on the comfort of your home and earn big bucks. If it’s too good to be true, there’s a big probability that it’s a scam. If you were asked to pay first to be given a job, it is most likely a fraud.
This is the same with the “Who’s viewing your profile”. It will capitalize on your curiosity to know who mentioned you on Twitter. Of course, the mention is a real thing, but the tweet that mentions you comes with a link that will take you to a dangerous site.
“Is this you in this video?”
This is one of the hardest to resist because it directly involves you. You will curiously check it if it is really you on the video but it will send you to a site where it will automatically download a malware to your computer.
Stock scam on LinkedIn
Scammers post about a promising company that is worth investing in. It includes a link to a video that will further explain why it is good to invest in this company. The scammer will display a high price stock and will sell his own share, and the stock decreases again.
Your account has been cancelled
This could be frightening to some users. It will start panic and will cause a user to carelessly enter their username and password to a fake website that the link brought them to. If you were asked to verify information on your account, do it directly on the site, not through the link that is given to you on your email.
This is the same with cancellation scams where scammers will make you reveal your information by confirming your email and entering username and password.
Diablo 3 scam on Pinterest
The recent release of Diablo 3 has taken advantage by scammers. Websites, especially Pinterest, were flooded with links that offers the free version and allows you to claim when you ‘repin’ the image. But instead, the link will take you to a fraudulent website.
Dating game on Tumblr
Tumblr members will receive spam messages that say that other members or followers joined the tumblrdatinggame.com. But the link will take you to unrelated websites such as the Adult Friend Finder service.
Keep a free Facebook account
There are posts that roam around Facebook that call for members to take action against a plan to charge its members to keep their accounts. The message usually goes something like, “post this so you will not be charged. Your account will continue to be free for you.” Facebook already denied the gossip so no need to take action. This is just a chain letter; harmless but a nuisance.